The Twenty Melbourne Painters Society (TMPS) has always held its portrait artists in high esteem. Some of our past members, Sir John Longstaff, Max Meldrum, Sir William Dargie and Ernest Buckmaster, were all successful in achieving Australia’s highest portrait award, the Archibald Prize.

The Society, in the past, has offered Portrait Commissions, as advised in the 1963 exhibition catalogue (below, courtesy Paul McDonald Smith).

Once again the Society is reintroducing this opportunity for the public to privately commission portraits from our society members who specifically excel in this particular genre.

The TMPS members offering portrait commission sittings are Lee Machelak, Ray Hewitt (President), Paul McDonald Smith OAM, Fiona Bilbrough, Max Wilks, Peter Smales, Bill Caldwell and Clive Sinclair.

Click on any image to enlarge. To enquire about arranging a portrait sitting with one of our portrait artists please contact the TMPS via our ‘Enquiry Form’ (below).

1963 TMPS Catalogue cover.




Lee Machelak

Award winning artist of:

  • The Violet Teague Portrait Prize (1995).
  • The Camberwell Gold Medal (1994).
  • The AME Bale Scholarship (1993).
  • Finalist for the “Shirley Hannon Portrait Prize”.

Lee Machelak.


“Worth His Weight In Gold”
Fiona Bilbrough.

Paul McDonald Smith OAM.


“Bearded Man”
Ray Hewitt.

Enquiry Form